Ramaphosa appoints Eskom Sustainability Task Team

Eskom's Megawatt Park
Reading Time: < 1 minute

President Cyril Ramaphosa has appointed an Eskom Sustainability Task Team to advise government on how to resolve the power utility’s operational, structural and financial challenges.

According to the statement released by the Presidency, this high-level task team consists of eight individuals with extensive electricity, management and economic expertise.

The team will review the turnaround strategy that Eskom has submitted to its board of directors. This will include a review of key assumptions, impact on tariffs and industry and viability of proposed solutions on the future role of Eskom. It will also assess the appropriateness of the current Eskom business model and structure.

The Task Team will also make proposals on resolving the debt burden and consult various role players including labour and business. The team’s assessments arise from government’s concern that a lack of adequate electricity has a negative impact on economic recovery.

The members of the team are Anton Eberhard, Brian Dames, Tsakani Mthombeni, Sy Gourrah, Grové Steyn, Frans Baleni, Mick Davis and Busisiwe Vilakazi.

Ramaphosa has requested the team to submit initial recommendations by the end of January 2019.

Watch a related video below: