ANC must act decisively to rebuild the bond of trust between people and the party

Reading Time: 2 minutes

The National Executive Committee (NEC) of the African National Congress (ANC) held its first ordinary meeting on 18-19 January 2018 in Irene, Tshwane.

ANC President Cyril Ramaphosa gave a presentation of a Political Overview which was followed by extensive discussions.

In a statement released on Saturday, the NEC noted that the excellent mobilisation for the ANC’s106th anniversary celebrations in East London and the January 8th Statement has generated a great deal of excitement, hope and enthusiasm among people.

The statement further says they agreed that the ANC must act decisively and with determination to rebuild the bond of trust between people and the party and reclaim their moral legitimacy.

The NEC also saw a need to forge social compact among government, business, labour and communites for economic recovery.

The NEC then resolved on a number of organisational matters. These include:

– The suspension of the Provincial Executive Committees of KwaZulu-Natal and Free State and the establishment of interim structures to unite and build the movement in preparation for provincial conferences.

– The Officials, led by President Ramaphosa, will continue their engagement with President Jacob Zuma to ensure effective coordination between the ANC and government.

The meeting elected members to the ANC National Working Committee(NWC), which is tasked with carrying out the decisions and instructions of the NEC and conduct the current work of the ANC.

In addition to the six Officials, the newly-elected members of the NWC are:

1. Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
2. Lindiwe Sisulu
3. Naledi Pandor
4. Jeff Radebe
5. Angie Motshekga
6. Derek Hanekom
7. Edna Molewa
8. Thoko Didiza
9. Nomvula Mokonyane
10. Nathi Mthethwa
11. Ronald Lamola
12. Tina Joemat-Pettersson
13. Dakota Legoete
14. Senzo Mchunu
15. Zizi Kodwa
16. Tony Yengeni
17. Bathabile Dlamini
18. Nomaindia Mfeketo
19. Barbara Creecy
20. Thandi Modise

The NEC will be holding its bi-annual lekogtla from 20-21January 2018 to detail the programme for the movement in 2018.