The Democratic Alliance (DA) has elected John Steenhuisen as the party’s new Parliamentary Leader.

In a statement, the party says the position was uncontested with only one nomination.

Steenhuisen immediately ceased to be the party’s chief whip in Parliament following last week’s resignation of Mmusi Maimane as DA and the party’s Parliamentary leader.

Steenhuisen had confirmed last week that his term is linked to that of the leader of the caucus. In accordance with the rules of the party, the leader of the caucus must be elected among members of the party in Parliament.