Home Affairs Minister Aaron Motsoaledi says those who will be allowed to use South Africa’s borders include learners who attend schools in the country and live in their countries of origin but have clear documentation.

He says those who work in the health and cargo transportation sectors will also be allowed to pass through.

South Africans who want to come back home will be allowed to do so and those who want to go back to their respective countries will also be given the right of passage.

The borders have been closed – except for a few exceptions.

President Cyril Ramaphosa’s address:

Briefing the media following President Cyril Ramaphosa’s address to the nation, Motsoaledi reiterated that strict protocols would be imposed at all 20 land borders in the country, during the adjusted Alert Level three of the lockdown.

“If people don’t fall into any of the categories that I have mentioned but believe their case is strong enough, they will then apply to the Minister of Home Affairs for exemption. But [applicants] will have to have a copy of the passport, a copy of temporary residence visa and proper documents for requesting to enter the Republic for a number of the intended days of stay. Proof of accommodation or residence when they are inside the country [is required],” explains Motsoaledi.

The video below is of the NCCC media briefing on COVID-19 regulations:

Ports of entry

“To reduce congestion and the high risk of transmission, Cabinet has decided that the 20 land ports of entry that are currently open will be closed until the 15th of February for general entry and departure,” President announced on Monday.

These include the six busiest border posts, which are Beitbridge, Lebombo, Maseru Bridge, Oshoek, Ficksburg and Kopfontein. People will however still be allowed to enter or depart the country for:

– the transportation of fuel, cargo and goods,
– emergency medical attention for a life-threatening condition,
– the return of South African nationals, permanent residents or persons with other valid visas,
– diplomats,
– the departure of foreign nationals,
– daily commuters from neighbouring countries who attend school in South Africa.