President Cyril Ramaphosa on Monday announced that South Africa will remain under an adjusted coronavirus (COVID-19) Alert Level 3 lockdown.

This as the country endures a surge in COVID-19 infections and deaths. South Africa is also battling with a new COVID-19 variant known as “501.V2 Variant”.

“We are in the grip of a deadly pandemic and all these activities that would normally take place are just increasing our exposure to risk – for ourselves, for the bereaved family and for our own families at home,” says Ramaphosa.

The President’s announcement comes at a time when people are travelling following the holiday season in December.

Additional regulations include the closure of 20 land ports of entry ncluding SA’s busiest borders. Borders that will be closed until 15 February 2021 include Beitbridge, Lebombo, Maseru Bridge, Oshoek, Ficksburg and Kopfontein.

Curfew hours have also been adjusted. Curfew in South Africa starts at 9pm and ends at 5am.

Video: President Ramaphosa addresses the nation on developments in COVID-19 response