BrightRock, MyPlayers to honour SA rugby stars

Awards logo
Reading Time: 2 minutes

South African Rugby players are set to honour their own at the second annual BrightRock Players Choice Awards on Tuesday evening.

The awards, in association with BrightRock and MyPlayers, will take place in Johannesburg at the Sandton Convention Centre.

The awards are the only of their kind in South Africa where professional rugby players from the country’s 14 unions vote for their top players across six different categories.

The 7th is a Fans’ Choice category where SA rugby lovers were given the chance to vote for their favourite players of 2018.

The 2018’s flagship award will again be the coveted Players’ Player of the Year award, won in 2017 by Springbok Captain Siya Kolisi.

Kolisi, who is in the running for it again in 2018, competes along with Aphiwe Dyantyi, Kwagga Smith and Malcolm Marx.

Other categories include Defender of the Year, Forward of the Year, Backline player of the Year and Best off the bench and the #LoveChange Award which will be handed down to the most improved player.

Fans were also able to get in on the action by voting for their favourite player among Werner Kok, Damian Willemse, Hacjivah Dayimani and Warrick Gelant.

The fans’ favourite will receive R50 000 for their chosen charity.

Follow @SABCNewsOnline and SABC News Digital Producer @Pabi_Lephaka on Twitter from 18:30 for live updates.