Ajax Cape Town bid farewell to 12 players

Reading Time: < 1 minute

After having failed in their bid to win promotion to the Absa Premiership this season, Ajax Cape Town, who finished fourth in the National First Division, have announced the departure of 12 players from the club.

With their contracts having coming to an end, Ajax have opted not renew some of the deals, although in the case of Prince Nxumalo and Brandon Petersen, it is due to them having already signed pre-contracts at Bidvest Wits.

Ajax’s Head of Football Hans Vonk says it is always sad to see players go, especially the likes of Petersen, Tashreeq Morris and Sirgio Kammies, who have been at the club since they were youth players.

However the former Bafana Bafana goalkeeper understands that it is the nature of the game that players will leave clubs, and he wishes them all the best in their futures.

Apart from Petersen, Nxumalo, Morris and Kammies, Ajax have also released Sibusiso Khumalo, Thamsanqa Teyise, Raymond Monama, Shu-aib Walters, Frederick Djedje, Guy-Stephane Bedi and Gerald Phiri, while Harold Majadibodu has returned to Mamelodi Sundowns after the completion of his loan deal. – Report by Rob Delport