Limpopo replaces mayors implicated in VBS scandal

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Limpopo ANC PEC has appointed permanent mayors in some of the municipalities whose former mayors were removed due to their alleged involvement in the VBS scandal.

The acting mayor in the Collins Chabane, Moses Maluleke and his counterpart in the Giyani municipality, Basani Shivambu, have been appointed permanently.

In the Ba-Phalaborwa, which is not affected by the VBS saga, Merium Malatji has replaced Pule Shayi who’s currently the executive district mayor in Mopani.

Shayi was not implicated in the VBS scandal.

ANC spokesperson Donald Selamolela says that two people who were acting mayors have been appointed permanently.

“In Greater Giyani and Collins Chabane after we were dealing with the VBS debacle we had to release the mayors in those municipalities respectively. The two comrades who were acting have been permanently appointed as the mayors of those two municipalities. Comrade Merium Malatji was acting in Ba-Phalaborwa so we’ve duly and finally appointed Merium Malatji as a permanent appointment in that municipality of Ba-Phalaborwa.”

Selamolela says the ANC’s PEC will soon finalise the appointment of mayors in the remaining municipalities affected by the VBS scandal.

“We’ll be finalising the appointment of the mayor in Lepelle-Nkumpi municipality in Capricorn district. We’ll be finalising the appointment of the mayor in Makhado municipality in Vhembe. We’ll be finalising appointment of the mayor in Fetakgomo-Tubatse and Ephraim Mogale in the Sekhukhune district.”