JVW are crowned Sasol League National playoffs champions

Reading Time: < 1 minute

JVW from Gauteng have been crowned the Sasol League National Play-offs champions following their 2-0 victory over Ma Indies from Limpopo at Tsakane Stadium in Ekurhuleni on Sunday.

Two goals from Gabriela Salgado and Nicole Irwin ensured that Banyana Banyana captain Janine Van Wyk’s team won the tournament.

Ma Indies beat JVW 2-1 in the group stage match on Thursday. JVW Coach Ciaro Picco says it was tough to play them twice.

JVW have also been promoted to the South African Football Association’s National Women League alongside Ma Indies. Player of the tournament Lebogang Ramalepe from JVW says it was a tough game.

JVW, Ma Indies and semi-finalists Sunflower FC from Kwazulu/Natal were the strongest teams in the play-offs, while the rest of the teams have a long way to go.

Banyana Banyana coach Desiree Ellis says the future of women’s football is bright. – Report by Vincent Sitsula