Government is stepping up its District Development Model, first launched in the OR Tambo district in the Eastern Cape in 2019. The model is now being implemented on a 600 kilometre stretch of coastline spanning from the Eastern Cape into KwaZulu-Natal.

The Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, is leading a series of DDM stakeholder engagements with the view to develop the Eastern seaboard that will include 17 municipalities.

Dlamini-Zuma says the goal is to build an inclusive economy to uplift the people of this area, some of who are the poorest in the country.

“If we want to deal with poverty, unemployment, underdevelopment, the emancipation of women and the youth, what better place to start than here. So this whole coastline needs to be developed even though we are starting with four districts. The four districts here have more than 3.6 million people and by 2050 there will be more than 8 million people in this area.”

Cooperative Governance Minister Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma spoke to SABC News from the Wild Coast:

President Cyril Ramaphosa will on Friday lead a District Development Model (DDM) visit to the Ugu District. The President will be accompanied by the Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA); the Premiers of KwaZulu-Natal and Eastern Cape; the Executive Mayors of Ugu, Harry Gwala, O.R. Tambo and Alfred Nzo Districts as well as Mayors of local municipalities.