African National Congress (ANC) Secretary General Ace Magashule has submitted the parliamentary candidate list as well as the provincial list to the Independent Electoral Commission in Pretoria.

Magashule has confirmed that Nomvula Mokonyane, Bathabile Dlamini and Malusi Gigaba are on the  list. He says the list was compiled after an extensive consultation with the party structures across ANC branches and regions.

Magashule addressed the media outside the IEC office earlier on Wednesday.

“No, look what we have done; we have to look at what the law says and you are talking about people who have never been charged with any crime or offense. Why do you want to single out people because they are out there in the media with allegations? Why don’t you respect the universal principle which is applicable throughout the world,”  Magashule argues.

Magashule says the list has addressed young people and the representation of women.

“We have tried to address the issues of young people. Two or three of our young people are around 20 or 23 years old. So, we have that mixer. We didn’t just have under 40’s. We have a generation of young people,” says Magashule.

Deadline to pay deposit and submit candidate lists

Political parties had until five this afternoon to pay their deposit and submit their candidate lists to the IEC. According to the IEC, 22 political parties had paid their deposits and 12 had submitted candidate lists. Approximately 34 parties had indicated their intention of contesting.