The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) has announced the finalists for the 2017 competition.

For a full list of finalists, see here. Having received more than 16,000 entries from 130 countries, 344 songs have been selected as finalists in a wide variety of genres.

Established in 2002, the ISC is the world’s largest songwriting competition and is open to all professional and amateur songwriters.

The ISC will award more than $150,000 in cash and prizes, including an overall Grand Prize consisting of $25,000 (US) cash, and more. A total of 71 winners will be selected in 23 categories of music. All entrants retain full rights to their songs.

Past winners have included: Vance Joy; Bastille; Gotye; Lindsey Stirling; Kimbra; The Band Perry; Kehlani; Andrew Bird; Passenger; Gin Wigmore; Missy Higgins; King Charles; for KING & COUNTRY.

Below are the South African finalists in their respective categories.


Crystal Lion                                       Yannick Meyer (Native Young) (Cape Town, South Africa)

Say What You Want                        Hugo Ludik, Daniel Baron (ADAM) (Johannesburg, South Africa)


Heartbeat                                           Dan Patlansky, Len Muller (Dan Patlansky) (Pretoria, South Africa)


A Little Sunshine                              Ivy Ann van Rooyen, Carl Dedekind, Ewoud van Rooyen (Bonfire Buffalo) (Witbank, South Africa)

Avery                                                    Nicholas Jordaan (Rubber Duc) (Johannesburg, South Africa)


In Place Of Something                   Martin Schofield, Cito (WONDERboom) (Johannesburg, South Africa)