WATCH: First sitting of NCOP

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Fifty-four permanent delegates drawn from the nine provincial legislatures are being sworn in, in the National Council of Provinces (NCOP) on Thursday.

It will be the first sitting of the NCOP presided over by Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng following the outcome of the May 8 general election.

Amos Masondo has been nominated to be elected as NCOP Chairperson, while former Northern Cape Premier Sylvia Lucas has been nominated to become his deputy.

Secretary to the NCOP Modibedi Phindela explains how the proceedings will unfold.

“Once the Chief Justice has sworn in the permanent delegates of the National Council of Provinces we’ll proceed to the election of the chairperson of the National Council of Provinces, and once the chairperson has been elected the Chief Justice will vacate the chair and the chairperson will take the chair in order to preside over the election of the deputy chairperson of the national council of provinces, as well as the chief whip of the national council of provinces.”