Voter registration will continue on Sunday in parts of the Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng, Limpopo, KwaZulu-Natal and Mpumalanga ahead of by-elections on May 19.  

The IEC in KwaZulu-Natal has encouraged voters from seven wards in the province to register for the by elections.  

Voter Educator at the IEC’s Durban branch, Dr Nonhlanhla Hlongwane, says voting on May 19 will be held under strict COVID19 regulations. 

Instead of the pen that we were using to mark voters, as they enter into the voting station, now we dip an ear bud into the ink bottle and mark the voters’ thumb and discard it for every voter. We will also ensure social distancing and we will sanitise voters as they come through and vote at the voting stations.”  

Meanwhile, the IEC in KwaZulu-Natal says it’s optimistic that voter registration will run smoothly this weekend ahead of the May 19 by-election.

By-elections will be held in 7 wards in different municipalities in the province.

They will take place in ward 10 eThekwini municipality, ward 2 eNdumeni municipality, ward 14 uPhongolo municipality and wards 15; 22 and 30 in Umhlathuze municipality.

The majority of these wards became vacant following the death of councillors.

SABC News Reporter Fanele Mhlongo reports on the KwaZulu-Natal voter registration weekend: