The IEC in KwaZulu-Natal is optimistic that voter registration will run smoothly this weekend ahead of the May 19 by-election. By-elections will be held in 7 wards in different municipalities in the province.

They will take place in Ward 10 eThekwini municipality, ward 2 eNdumeni municipality, ward 14 uPhongolo municipality and wards 15; 22 and 30 in Umhlathuze municipality.

The majority of these wards became vacant following the death of councillors.

Rinaldo Park voting station supervisor in Durban, Sbahle Nhlapho, has encouraged those coming to register to ensure that they adhere to COVID-19 regulations.

“We open at 8am and close at 5pm, during the pandemic we are making sure that we are keeping everyone distanced. Please make sure that you come down. We encourage you to come in large numbers and we will be here to assist you to register, most of the people have changed their VD’s and we are here to assist you and please come wearing a mask.”

Below is the interview with Sbahle Nhlapho: