Minister of Energy Gwede Mantashe has appointed seven board members at the South African Nuclear Energy Corporation (NECSA).

The appointments follow the resignation of NECSA’s remaining board members last week.

Former Eskom Chief Nuclear Officer, David Nicholls, will chair the new NECSA board. The company, which was established in 1999, is state-owned.

Watch related video below: