DA announces new leadership, Maimane remains Federal leader

Reading Time: < 1 minute

The Democratic Alliance (DA) announced its new leadership on Sunday afternoon at the  Democratic Alliance Federal Congress in Pretoria.

Mmusi Maimane remains the Federal Leader of the Democratic Alliance (DA).

The DA makes this announcement as Maimane was unopposed during the parties Federal Conference in Pretoria.

Other elects are Athol Trollip as Federal Chairperson, Ivan Henry, Micheal Waters & Refiloe Nt’sekhe as the Deputy Federal Chairpersons.

View other elects below:

Meanwhile, the DA’s constitution has been amended to allow the party to fire all public representatives that it has lost confidence in.

The amendment does allow for those accused of any improper conduct to make representations and go through a disciplinary process.

This is seen as the DA’s inability to fire Cape Town Mayor Patricia De Lille.

Click below to watch video: