Cape Town to host Nedbank Cup final

Reading Time: < 1 minute

The Premier Soccer League together with Nedbank on Thursday announced that Cape Town Stadium will host the 2018 Nedbank Cup final on 19 May.

PSL Acting Chief Executive, Mato Madlala said, “Cape Town football supporters have been asking for an opportunity to watch a cup final in their backyard for some time now and we are excited to bring a major cup final to Cape Town Stadium. This is in line with the commitment made by the league to utilize the stadiums built for the 2010 Fifa World Cup. This is not just an opportunity to watch a football match but a chance for fans to be part of an experience.”

Facing a gruelling journey to reach the quarterfinals, the remaining eight clubs are currently in the running to be crowned the 2018 Nedbank Cup victors and will have Cape Town at the back of their minds as they prepare themselves for the last couple of battles ahead of the final.

The clubs that have qualified for the quarterfinals are:  Ubuntu Cape Town, Free State Stars, Bloemfontein Celtic, Kaizer Chiefs, Maritzburg United, Baroka FC, Mamelodi Sundowns and Cape Town City FC.

The draw is as follows:

Maritzburg United v Bloemfontein Celtic

Ubuntu Cape Town v Free State Stars

Cape Town City v Mamelodi Sundowns

Kaizer Chiefs v Baroka FC