Ann Ashworth has won the female 2018 Comrades Marathon. She finished the race at 6:10:10.

Ashworth won the Legends 68km and was placed fifth at the Two Oceans and came runner -up at the Loskop Marathon.

Earlier in the morning, Bongumusa Mthembu took the men’s race coming in at 05:26:39.

Mthembu, who hails from Bulwer in the KwaZulu-Natal midlands became the first South African to win the race more than once since Bruce Fordyce, when he won the race for the second time last year.

More than 21 000 athletes are participating in the marathon. The distance for this year’s down run race is 90.2 km.

The race started outside the Pietermaritzburg City Hall and ends at the Moses Mabhida Stadium for the first time.

Previous races ended at the Kingsmead Cricket Stadium on the down run.

This year’s race will have six official cut-offs along the 90.184km route.