The number of former cabinet ministers resigning from Parliament continues to rise. African National Congress (ANC) Chief Whip,  Pemmy Majodina has confirmed that former Social Development Minister Susan Shabangu is the latest to hand in her resignation letter.

On Wednesday, former Ministers of State Security and Human Settlements Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba and Nomaindia Mfeketo resigned.

It is expected that more of those who were left out of President Cyril Ramaphosa’s new cabinet will step down from Parliament.

The main reason for the resignations is usually to secure their pensions at the level of a minister instead of an ordinary MP.