The African National Congress’ 54th national elective congress currently underway in Johannesburg has concluded nominations for the top six positions. The race for the top job has reduced from seven candidates to a two horse race between Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma and Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa.

There were also a several last minute withdrawal from the race for other positions.  According to the final nominations, Ramaphosa is leading with 1469 branch nominations in six branches while his main rival Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma has support of 1094 branches in six provinces.

Both candidates have accepted nominations. Other members who made the cut include Lindiwe Sisulu, David Mabuza and Zweli Mkhize for the deputy president.  Gwede Mantashe and Nathi Mthethwa are nominated for the position of National Chairperson. Senzo Mchunu and Ace Makgashule nominated for the secretary general position, Jessie Duarte and Zingiswa Loso for the deputy secretary-general while Maite Nkoana-Mashabane and Paul Mashatile are vying for the treasurer general position.

Last minute withdrawals from the top six officials included that of Naledi Pandor, Zweli Mkhize and Nomvula Mokonyane. Voting is expected to be conducted overnight.

Click below to watch the conference as it happens: