Kenya bans cross-border movement between Tanzania and Somalia amid COVID-19

Uhuru Kenyatta
Reading Time: 2 minutes

Kenya’s President Uhuru Kenyatta has banned movement across the country’s borders with Tanzania and Somalia in a bid to contain the spread of coronavirus. While movement of cargo will continue, President Kenyatta said drivers would have to be tested for the deadly viral disease.

49 more people tested positive for COVID-19 in Kenya bringing the tally to 830 cases. Kenyatta also announced that 78 drivers who have tested positive were barred from entering the country.

Along the East African borders truck drivers have emerged as a high risk group for the spread of coronavirus, said Kenyatta pointing out a spike in the numbers this week.

43 people tested positive for COVID-19, all of them having travelled from Tanzania and Somalia, now Kenya is moving to stop cross border transmissions.

“There will be a cessation of movement of persons and any passenger-ferrying automobiles and vehicles into and out of the territory of Kenya through the Kenya-Tanzania international border,” says Kenyatta.

Within the country, the President announced that a 21-day dawn to dusk curfew would continue for a further three weeks.

“I know there is growing global pressure for easing of measures against this disease and for all of us to get back to normal,” says Kenyatta.

Restrictions of movement in and out of the capital Nairobi, Mombasa, Kilifi and Kwale on the Indian Ocean coast and Mandera in the northeast, which were first imposed in April will continue.

Schools and places of worship will remain closed and public gatherings are still banned.