Battle for Collins Chabane Local Municipality : Levy Ndou

Reading Time: < 1 minute

The Collins Chabane Local Municipality in Limpopo was established after the August 2016 local government elections by the merging of portions of two local municipalities, Thulamela and Makhado.

Malamulele is the seat of the municipality.

Some residents in the municipality say while they are enthusiastic about voting in the November 1 Local Government Elections, they are still concerned about service delivery.

While some residents in the disbanded Mutale Local Municipality, whose areas were incorporated into the Thulamela and Musina local municipalities, have written to the Municipal Demarcation Board demanding the restoration of their municipality.

Vuwani, which was part of the Makhado Municipality, became part of the Collins Chabane Municipality in 2016.  The decision led to protracted, violent resistance by some residents. Following years of negotiations and intervention by the national government, the matter has been resolved but lack of essential services remains a concern for residents.

Political Analyst Levy Ndou unpacks the history of the municipality and talks about the front-running contenders to lead it: