White House delegation attending Ramaphosa’s inauguration announced

South African president Cyril Ramaphosa.
Reading Time: < 1 minute

The White House has announced its delegation to represent President Donald Trump at the inauguration of President Cyril Ramaphosa on May 25th.

For the first time, the President will be inaugurated at Loftus Versveld stadium in Pretoria instead of the traditional Union Buildings.

The US delegation will be led by the little known Kimberly Reed who is both President and Chairperson of the Board of Directors of the Export-Import Bank of the United States – the export credit agency of the US Federal Government.

None of the members of her delegation will be of Cabinet-level or members of the Senate or House of Representatives.

Bonnie Glick – the Deputy Assistant to the President for Economic Policy, the acting head of the US Embassy in Pretoria Jessica Lapenn and Cyril Sartor – a Special Assistant to the President and a Senior Director of African Affairs at the National Security Council will make up the rest of the White House delegation.

It’s unclear why the White House is sending a delegation that appears to have such a top-heavy economic focus.

Click on related video below: