Wayde van Niekerk, Chad le Clos part of SA Olympic squad

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Team South Africa has been announced for the Tokyo Olympics due to kick off on July 23. Japan’s Olympics organisers have excluded foreign spectators and limited the number of domestic ones amid the coronavirus pandemic.

Wayde van Niekerk, Tjatjana Schoenmaker, Chad le Clos, Kyle Blignaut, and Gift Leotlela are among the team members announced on Thursday night.



The SA team was announced on SABC’s new 24-hour Sports Channel, which was launched on Thursday night.

Proceedings of the launch in the video below:

The team is the second batch of South Africans who will be flying the country’s flag high at the Olympics.

The names of the first squad, representatives across seven codes – athletics, climbing, cycling, gymnastics, hockey (men and women), sailing and surfing, were released in May.

Athletes selected for the Tokyo Olympics have been receiving COVID-19 vaccinations ahead of the Games, which run from 23 July to 8 August.