Cricket Australia (CA) says only three players conspired to cheat against South Africa. Sanctions will be announced after a full investigation is concluded in the next 24 hours.

Australia’s former cricket captain, Steve Smith, former vice-captain, David Warner and opening batsman Cameron Bancroft are to face significant sanctions for the recent ball-tampering incident.

Cricket Australia CEO James Sutherland has revealed this at a media briefing in Johannesburg on Tuesday. The nature of the sanctions will be disclosed once CA’s investigation has been concluded.

Sutherland says it’s been established that only Smith, Warner and Bancroft were involved in the plan to tamper with the ball’s condition, and not coach Darren Lehmann or any other player in the team.

The three will return to Australia immediately, before the sanctions against them are announced. They’ll be replaced by Matt Renshaw, Glenn Maxwell and Joe Burns for the final Test in Johannesburg, starting on Friday, while Tim Paine will captain the side.