Voter registration underway for 9 upcoming by-elections

Reading Time: < 1 minute

The Independent Electorate Commission says voter registration is being held this weekend for nine municipal ward by-elections.

The by-elections will take place on June 30 in KwaZulu-Natal, Eastern Cape, Northern Cape and Western Cape. The two wards being contested in KwaZulu-Natal are Ward 98 in the eThekwini Municipality and Ward 5 in the eDumbe Municipality.

The ward in eThekwini became vacant when the councillor died, and in eDumbe the councillor’s party membership was terminated.

Voters can visit their voting stations in these wards to check whether their names are on the voters’ roll, or to register to vote. Voting stations are open on Saturday until 5pm and Sunday from 8am to 5pm.

IEC updates on preparations for local government elections