The United Nations Secretary General, António Guterres, has praised countries that have ratified the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons after the 50th instrument for ratification was received from Honduras which now brings the framework into force.

The UN has also indicated that with the 50th ratification, the treaty will enter into force within 90 days with the date now set for January 22nd next year.

The treaty requires all states that ratify it to never under any circumstances develop, test, produce, manufacture, acquire, process or stockpile nuclear weapons or other nuclear explosive devices and for those countries to promote the treaty  to others.

South Africa deposited its instrument as far back as February last year becoming only the 22nd country to do so and led negotiations towards its adoption in 2017.

Last week the United States addressed a letter to the signatories urging them to withdraw from the treaty arguing it would turn back the clock on verification and disarmament and was dangerous to the 50-year old Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty which is considered by some to be a bedrock of efforts towards nonproliferation globally.

The letter says the five original nuclear powers the U.S., Russia, China, Britain and France in addition to America’s NATO allies stand unified in their opposition to the potential repercussions of the treaty.

VIDEO: SA supports Nuclear Free World: