The leaders of both the United Nations (UN) and the African Union Commission (AU) have slammed countries for imposing travel restrictions on southern African countries, with the UN Secretary-General going as far as branding the actions “travel apartheid.”

AU Commission Chair Moussa Faki Mahamat and his UN counterpart Antonio Guterres were briefing the media after the fifth annual Conference on the two organisation’s strategic partnership concluded in New York.

Faki called the actions “punitive” after a number of countries instituted travel bans on eight southern African countries after the Omicron variant was identified by regional scientists there.

Both leaders warned against the collective punishment of the citizens of countries that have identified and shared crucial science and health information with the rest of the world.

Below is the full report by SABC News UN Correspondent Sherwin Bryce-Pease: