Sundowns take Absa PSL championship

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Mamelodi Sundowns are the 2017/2018 ABSA Premiership champions. They beat Ajax Cape Town 3-1  to clinch the League title with one game to spare.

However, the Warriors’ fate will be decided in the last match of the league following SuperSport United’s 1-1 draw against Chippa United.

Orlando Pirates will finish the season, second on the log following their one-nil loss against Cape Town City.

Kaizer Chiefs beat Maritzburg United two-nil to leapfrog to third on the log.

Baroka FC forced Bloemfontein Celtic out of the top eight with a two-one scoreline.

It was expected that Sundowns work will be cut out following their 2-2 draw against Maritzburg United in a midweek match.

The Warriors fired the first salvo, in the second minute, through Captain Mosa Lebusa, following a defensive blunder.

However, coach Pitso Mosimane fielded his strong squad to tackle the youthful Ajax Cape Town.

His approach of using the combination of Percy Tau and Khama Billiat worked – as Sundowns equalised in the 12th minute.

Sundowns applied more pressure and forced Ajax Cape Town to commit errors. They were awarded a penalty after Ajax goalkeeper was adjudged to have fouled Billiat.

Ricardo Nascimento scored from the spot from there on it was one way traffic as Sundowns scored the third goal to win the league.

The Brazilians have now won the league for a record eigth time since 1996.

The ABSA Premiership, became a two horse race in the later stages as Orlando Pirates launched stiff competition on Sundowns.

However, the goal scored by Ayanda Patosi, coupled with Sundowns win, confirmed that Pirates will end the season, second on the log.