Springboks nominated for Team of the Year at Laureus Awards

Reading Time: < 1 minute

The reigning Rugby World Cup champions, South Africa, are up for another accolade. The Springboks have been nominated in the Team of the Year category at the 2020 Laureus World Sports Awards to be held in Berlin next month.

Laureus released the list of final nominations for all categories earlier on Wednesday.

The Springboks, who won the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan, will be up against among others, UEFA Champions League winners, Liverpool, the FIFA Women’s World Cup champions, the USA, and six-time Formula One world champions Mercedes-AMG Petronas.

The Springboks won the category at the 2008 Laureus Awards after winning the 2007 Rugby World Cup in France.