Cabinet has extended South Africa’s National State of Disaster by yet another month until June 15.

The current state of disaster was meant to expire on Saturday, after it was extended in April.

In a statement, Cabinet says the extension is within the terms of Section 27 of the Disaster Management Act – following its meeting over the country’s COVID-19 response and vaccine rollout programme.

Health Minister, Dr Zweli Mkhize, has recently raised concerns over the possibility of the country entering its third wave of infections – despite phase two of the vaccination programme due to kick off on Monday.

Discussion on growing concerns of a possible third wave:

The cumulative number of COVID-19-related cases identified in South Africa currently stands at 1 602 031 and the death toll has climbed to 54 968.