SANEF awards journalists for courage and tenacity

Reading Time: 3 minutes

South African National Editors’ Forum (SANEF) has awarded journalists who have shown courage and tenacity in the face of enormous challenges. The awarded journalists have been praised for resisting censorship and striving for truth and -accuracy in their reporting.

The award ceremony took place on Saturday evening.

The CEO and co-founder of Daily Maverick, Styli Charalambous, is the winner of the Nat Nakasa 2021 award.

Daily Maverick has become one of the leading online and print publications in South Africa partly because of the commitment and passion of the former chartered accountant. Styli says he is passionate about the media business.

The Nat Nakasa Award Community Media was awarded to Nathan Geffen and Raymond Joseph for their work in the community news agency GroundUp.

The coveted Stephen Wrottesley Award went to Sanef secretary-general, Mahlatse Mahlase. Mahlase was the chairperson at Sanef between  2016 – 2020.

The award was presented for her passion, professionalism, commitment to SANEF and dedication to media freedom and ethics.

“Nominated by her peers, Mahlase steered Sanef to financial and organisational stability and has led Sanef in its principled campaign against prevailing hate speech and online abuse against journalists. She championed Sanef’s activism to push back against the abuse of particularly women journalists by politicians and online trolls,” says Mahlakwane.

“There are many instances of courage in journalism, both under apartheid and the current democracy. Journalists yearn to laud their own, to show we do a tough job, sometimes under severe threat, often unappreciated and even scorned. This award shows our audience and the country and our fellows that their courage does not go unseen,” says Peter Sullivan, convenor of the panel since 2006.

SANEF also recognises five community radio stations this year who have shown determination and bravery in serving their communities: Alex FM; Westside FM 98.9 MHz; Mams Radio; Intokozo FM and Kasie FM 97.1. The prizes were awarded from the SANEF Media Relief Fund.