The SABC welcomed members of the newly reconstituted SABC Board to the corporation on Tuesday.

The Board, which includes the recently appointed eight Board members, now forms a quorum and will be able to fulfill its statutory and constitutional duties in stabilising the public broadcaster.

The Chairperson of the Board, Bongumusa Makhathini, states “the new Board members join the organisation at a critical period when they are most needed to take the organisation forward. We believe that they will provide the necessary guidance and leadership, ensuring that good governance continues to be upheld at the public broadcaster. I would also like to thank SABC management and all staff members who, without hesitation, continued to discharge their public service responsibility and served the nation with distinction in the absence of a quorate Board”.

The Board members are currently going through a comprehensive induction process which started on Wednesday and will run until Thursday.

This will provide Board members with an opportunity to be briefed by management on all pressing issues facing the SABC, as well as familiarising themselves with the organisation’s culture, processes and policies.

The SABC Board is comprised of the following members:

  1. Bongumusa Makhathini (Chairperson);
  2. Mamodupi Mohlala-Mulaudzi (Deputy Chairperson);
  3. Professor Sathasivan Cooper;
  4. Advocate Benjamin Motshedi Lekalakala;
  5. David  Maimela;
  6. Michael Markovitz;
  7. Dinkwanyane Mohuba;
  8. Bernedette  Muthien;
  9. Jasmina  Patel;
  10. Jack Phalane;
  11. Mary Papayya;
  12. Dr Marcia Socikwa;
  13. Madoda Mxakwe (Group Chief Executive Officer);
  14. Chris Maroleng (Chief Operations Officer); and
  15. Yolande Biljon (Chief Financial Officer).