SABC News walks away with two Vodacom awards

In the Opinion category at tonight’s #VJOY19 awards is your winning team from SABC News, Olwethu Matsipane, Krivani Pillay, and Deidre Uren ? a well-earned victory.
Reading Time: 2 minutes

SABC News took home two awards at the 18th Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards held in Midrand, Johannesburg.

Hazel Friedman and Ridwaan Ismail won in the politics category for their Special Assignment stories Bitter Harvest and The Lie of the Land.

For their work on Democracy Gauge Olwethu Matsipane, Krivani Pillay and Deidre Uren won the opinion category.

Tammy Petersen from News24’s took the top prize for her work on a gang war series entitled “When you live in Hanover Park, you know death.”

This year the awards received thousands of entries from across the country spanning 12 categories – Investigative, Opinion, Lifestyle, Photography, Sport, Economics, Politics, CSI, Live reporting/ breaking news, Data Journalism, Multi-platform and the Young Journalist of the Year Award.

The Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards 2019 theme was Connect the Dots and paid tributes to the best-of-the-best of the entries.