SA Squad springs few surprisers

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Springbok selectors have sprung two surprises in the selection of the 30-man squad for the rugby World Cup which starts on September 9. Francois Louw has been included in the forwards and Odwa Ndungane is among the backs. The Springboks will travel to the Rugby World Cup in New Zealand with two injured fullbacks. Patrick Lambie and Frans Steyn were the latest additions to the Springboks’ injury list. Both were cleared to travel to New Zealand despite not being fully fit with the Springboks’ opening match less than three weeks away. Former Springbok captain Naas Botha said: “There is enough time for players to regroup and make sure that they are sort of injury free. If you are taking New Zealand and – you can imagine if there is one or two serious injuries to some of their players. I am actually glad we are finished with the Tri Nations and also that we have got about three weeks before we play the first game.”

The full 30-man squad: Forwards: John Smit, Victor Matfield, Willem Alberts, Bakkies Botha, Heinrich Brussow, Schalk Burger, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Beast Mtawarira, Johann Muller, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Danie Rossouw, Pierre Spies, Gurthro Steenkamp, CJ van der Linde and Francois Louw. And the Back: Gio Aplon, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers, Fourie du Preez, Jaque Fourie, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Butch James, Pat Lambie, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Francois Steyn, Morne Steyn and Odwa Ndungane.

– By