South Africa(SA) is officially off the United Kingdom’s (UK) red list for travel.

The UK has cut 47 destinations from the list. The country’s Transport Secretary Grant Shapps says that the change will officially take effect from Monday,11 October.

Other countries that have been removed from the list include Ghana, India and Turkey. Shapps says the measures mark the UK’s next step as it continues to open up travel and provide stability for passengers.

The UK will also now recognise proof of vaccines administered in South Africa, meaning travellers will not have to quarantine on arrival.