SA drought should be declared a national disaster – Afasa

Reading Time: < 1 minutes

The African Farmers Association of South Africa (Afasa) is calling on government to declare drought as a national disaster.

The association says already the country’s five provinces are hard hit by drought.

The provinces include North West, Free State, KwaZulu-Natal, the Northern Cape, and the Eastern Cape.

Afasa Chairperson Neo Masithela says: “Farmers are losing their livestock, farmers are losing crops and farmers are not doing very well. In light of that, we understand that it is a matter of national importance and that national government must consider declaring most of the areas a national disaster to enable government to have a direct impact and support farmers.”

Masithela says they have already contacted the Department of Agriculture to assist farmers who are affected by drought.


Watch the video below for related news:

– Report by Kea Moalusi

BREAKING NEWS: Govender brothers sentenced to 7 years imprisonment for attempted murder, 3 years for grievous bodily harm and 12 months for assault common. For more visit http://sabcnews.com