Robust debates enthral ANC Top 6 nominations

Reading Time: 2 minutes

The African National Congress (ANC) nomination for the top  6 was certainly not a smooth flowing operation. The process was preceded by the adoption of conference credentials earlier on Sunday – almost a day late.

Nominations for the party’s top brass saw delegates engaged in robust debates – which were a culmination of disagreements around the nomination process for the National Executive Committee (NEC). The argument centered around the party’s electoral committee announcing its opposition to delegates carrying lists into voting booths.

Although the nominations for the NEC are only scheduled to take place on Monday morning after the announcement of the top 6, it was this debate that temporarily put a halt on the  nominations for the party’s top 6 leadership.

WATCH: Delegates nominate Top 6

After much deliberation, outgoing Chairperson Baleka Mbete decided that delegates should proceed with the nomination process – leaving the debate on the nomination of the NEC members to Monday.

The top 6 nominations process did not spare any drama. There were several last minute withdrawals from the race for other positions. These included that of Naledi Pandor, Zweli Mkhize and Nomvula Mokonyane.

The final nominations saw ANC deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa and Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma  leading the race to lead the party.

Other members that have been nominated include  Lindiwe Sisulu, David Mabuza and Zweli Mkhize for the deputy president.  Gwede Mantashe and Nathi Mthethwa are nominated for the position of National Chairperson. Jessie Duarte and Zingiswa Loso for the deputy Secretary General. Maite Nkoana-Mashabane and Paul Mashatile nominated for treasurer general, Senzo Mchunu and Ace Magashule nominated for the Secretary General position.