Revised Lions Series fixture list and venues confirmed

Reading Time: 2 minutes

SA Rugby and the British and Irish Lions have confirmed a revised Lions Series fixture list and venues. 

All eight matches of the Tour will be played in Gauteng and Cape Town to minimise the risks of disruption that could be caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.  

The Lions Series will now kick off in Gauteng instead of Cape Town, with three matches against provincial opposition before moving to Cape Town for two more warm-up matches. 

That will be followed by the first Test at the Cape Town Stadium on Saturday, 24 July.  

The series then returns to Johannesburg for the second and third Tests at the FNB Stadium.  

There is one team change in the revised schedule, with the Johannesburg-based Lions replacing the SA Invitational team as opposition for the touring team. 

Meanwhile, the second match of the inaugural Super Rugby Trans-Tasman competition produced a try-fest with 17 tries scored.  

The Hurricanes beat the Waratahs 64-48 in Sydney, outscoring their hosts by 10 tries to seven.  

The visitors led 33-24 at the break. Earlier today, the Highlanders recorded a 40-19 victory over the Reds in the opening match of the competition in Dunedin.