Spain coach Julen Lopetegui named his 23-man World Cup squad on Monday (June 4) with a rich blend of youth and experience, as well as some high-profile absentees.

Chelsea striker Alvaro Morata was left out after a disappointing season in England, as was his team mate Marcos Alonso, with Arsenal’s Nacho Monreal picked as back-up for left back Jordi Alba.

Lopetegui selected Atletico Madrid’s Diego Costa, Celta Vigo’s Iago Aspas and Valencia’s Rodrigo Moreno as his three centre forwards, all relatively untested.

Costa, who had a disappointing tournament in Brazil in 2014 as Spain were knocked out at the group stage, has scored seven goals in 18 internationals.

Versatile Barcelona midfielder Sergi Roberto was also omitted while veteran playmaker Andres Iniesta heads to his fourth World Cup along with captain Sergio Ramos.

Isco, Marco Asensio, Nacho Fernandez, Dani Carvajal and Lucas Vazquez are going to the tournament for the first time along with their Real Madrid team mate Ramos.

Only four Barcelona players are in the Spain squad, down from seven Brazil four years ago.

The 2010 world champions face Switzerland on June 3 and Tunisia on June 9 in friendlies before their World Cup campaign begins against Portugal on June 15.

# Pos. Player Name

1 GK David de Gea

2 DF Dani Carvajal

3 DF Gerard Pique

4 DF Nacho

5 MF Sergio Busquets

6 MF Andres Iniesta

7 MF Saul

8 MF Koke

9 FW Rodrigo

10 MF Thiago

11 FW Lucas Vazquez

12 DF Alvaro Odriozola

13 GK Kepa Arrizabalaga

14 DF Cesar Azpilicueta

15 DF Sergio Ramos

16 DF Nacho Monreal

17 FW Iago Aspas

18 DF Jordi Alba

19 FW Diego Costa

20 MF Marco Asensio

21 FW David Silva

22 MF Isco

23 GK Pepe Reina