Presidency names ten member advisory panel on land reform

Reading Time: < 1 minute

The Presidency has named the ten members of the advisory panel on land reform, announced by President Cyril Ramaphosa.  The appointment of the panel forms part of the new economic recovery and stimulus package.

The panel is chaired by development planning specialist Dr Vuyokazi Mahlati, who is also President of the African Farmers Association of South Africa.

Other members are Professor Ruth Hall, a researcher  at the University of the Western Cape’s Institute for Poverty, Land and Agrarian Studies; Professor Mohammed Karaan from the Agricultural Economics Department at Stellenbosch University; Advocate Tembeka Ngcukaitobi of the Legal Resources Centre; Bulelwa Mabasa, an  attorney who specialises in areas like land restitution, tenders and, mining litigation; Dr Thandi Ngcobo, a researcher on land and education; Agricultural Economist Wandile Sihlobo from the Agricultural Business Chamber of South Africa; Daniel Kriek, a Free State farmer who is President of AgriSA; Thato Moagi, an emerging farmer and entrepreneur; and Nick Serfontein, another Free State farmer who leads programmes aimed at developing farms and up scaling emerging farmers.

Click below for more on the story: