Political Party: Freedom Front Plus

Reading Time: 2 minutes

The Freedom Front Freedom Front Plus (FF+) was formed in 1993 by General Constand Viljoen, a former Chief of the South African Defence Force (SADF).

Viljoen came out of retirement to lead a group of Afrikaners who wanted to form a political party.

As head of the Afrikaner Volksfront, Viljoen was instrumental in convincing conservative Afrikaners to participate in the new dispensation, through which, he argued, the issue of self-determination should be taken up.

After the 2009 general elections, then FF+ leader Dr Pieter Mulder was appointed to President Jacob Zuma’s executive as deputy minister of environmental affairs.

In the 2014 elections, the FF+ secured 0.90% of the popular ballot; it won four seats as a result. Dr Mulder stepped down as leader of the party on 8 November 2016.

Dr Pieter Groenewald was subsequently elected the new leader of the FF+ at the party’s congress in Kempton Park.

In the 2019 general election, FF+ increased substantially totaling 250 000 (2.38%) of the national vote, gaining 10 seats in National Assembly.

For the 2021 local elections, FF+ has an 8-point plan to improve municipal management and service delivery – among them: decentralise local government; charge fair taxes and rates and stop unfair increases, or promote good moral values.