Political parties welcome appointment of SABC Board

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Political parties have welcomed the appointment of eight new board members to fill vacancies on the SABC Board.

Mamodupi Mohlala-Mulaudzi has been appointed as the Deputy Chairperson and Bongumusa Makhathini will remain the Board’s Chairperson.

The eight will finish off the remaining term of the members who resigned in 2018.

The message from political parties is that the board must hit the ground running and turn the financially cash-strapped SABC to a financial sustainable entity, and also play oversight duties on the executives.

ANC MP Mzwamadoda Kalako says:”When the board collapsed they were in the process of engaging the treasury and also of finalising the strategic plan so that the SABC can be able to function properly.”

UDM MP Nqabayomzi Kwankwa says, “The recapitalisation of the SABC. The board now have to focus on playing a critical role to ensure that the SABC is indeed restored by the national Treasury so that no one loses his or her job at the SABC.”

EFF MP Mbuyiseni Ndlozi says, “It doesn’t matter what board you appoint as long as you do not give the SABC a guarantee – its path to financial stability.”

The term of office of the board expires in 2022.

Click video below for more on the story:

The Presidency says the President has satisfied himself with all the names and processes that were followed by the National Assembly to choose the best candidates.