Passengers from high-risk countries officially barred: Mbalula

Fikile Mbalula
Reading Time: 2 minutes

All passengers travelling from countries that are considered high-risk for the spread of the coronavirus are now officially barred from entering South Africa. This is according to Transport Minister Fikile Mbalula who has been updating the media about travel restrictions in the wake of the deadly pandemic.

Earlier in Friday, 14 international flights were grounded at OR Tambo International Airport in line with government’s ban on foreign nationals from high-risk countries.

In the video below, 14 flights are grounded at the OR Tambo International Airport. 

Only permanent South African residents and citizens were allowed to disembark, but were subjected to high-intensity screening and isolated or quarantined if needed. Other passengers on the planes are to be sent back to their countries of origin.

Mbalula says the extraordinary measures against travellers from countries such as China and the United States are aimed at protecting South Africans.

“For some, it means that these countries, in terms of their airlines, will actually not come. And yet, in terms of the regulations, what we are talking about is a travel restriction on people who come from those countries. They will not be allowed. People coming from China, South Korea and so on will not be allowed to disembark in the Republic.”

In the video below, Transport minister Fikile Mbalula is updating the media on the implementation of covid-19 regulations in the civil aviation sector. 

INFOGRAPHIC: Latest COVID19 cases: