Parliament ready for new members of the National Assembly, NCOP

Reading Time: 2 minutes

With voting counting complete, Parliament says it is ready to welcome new Members of Parliament (MPs) and those of the National Council of Provinces (NCOP).

The Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) is scheduled to officially announce the election results on Saturday evening and it is at that occasion that it is expected the final seat allocations for different parties will be announced.

Both houses of Parliament are expected to be convened within 14 days of the IEC’s declaring of the election results, according to the constitution.

Following the announcement of the elections results, the list of candidates of political parties will be handed over by the Chief Justice to Parliament ahead of their swearing in as Members of Parliament.

“The Chief Justice of South Africa has the powers, under the Constitution, to determine the dates and times of these first sittings and presides over key aspects of them,” reads in part the statement released by the Parliamentary Communication Services on Friday.

“The first sitting of the National Assembly is provisionally scheduled for 22 May and that of the National Council of Provinces for 23 May. These dates are subject to official announcement by the Chief Justice.”

The Chief Justice will preside over the election of the Speaker of the National Assembly, who will preside over the elections the Deputy Speaker. The Chief Justice will then preside over the election of the President, selected among Members of Parliament in the National Assembly.

“The President, once elected, ceases to be a Member of Parliament and must take up office within five days of being elected.”