New President to be inaugurated on May 24 at Union Buildings

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Government has confirmed that the inauguration of the new President will take place on Saturday May 24 at Union Buildings.

Minister for Performance Monitoring and Evaluation as well as Administration and chairperson of the Inauguration Inter-Ministerial Committee, Collins Chabane, addressed journalists on government’s state of readiness to host the 2014 Presidential Inauguration.
He says the inauguration takes place during the time were the country celebrates 20 years of Freedom.

Chabane says, “It is during this time that we remember our first democratically elected President, Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela, taking his oath of affirmation which changed the country forever.”

The swearing in ceremony will take place at 11am. It will be attended by thousands of people, of whom 4500 will be accommodated in the Nelson Mandela Amphitheatre at the Union Buildings.

“Some of them will include Members of Parliament, representatives of provincial governments and municipalities, representatives of communities of faith and civil society organisations, former Heads of State, Heads of State in government and eminent persons,” says Chabane.

Following the conclusion of the formal proceedings guests will be entertained by a cultural event which will take place on the Southern Lawns.

According to Chabane, before the inauguration of the President, the National Assembly will convene for its first sitting on Wednesday, 21 May 2014.

Members of Parliament will be sworn in. This will be followed by the election of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly and the President of the Republic.

The Constitution prescribes that the President be sworn in within five days of being elected by the National Assembly.

By the time the inauguration takes place Provinces would have elected their Premiers and provincial delegates to the National Council of Provinces. The NCOP will have its first sitting on the 22 May 2014.

The public can follow proceedings via live television and radio broadcasts as well as public viewing areas at 47 sites throughout the country.

– By