New Eskom Technical Review Team appointed

Reading Time: 2 minutes

A Technical Review Team has been appointed at power utility Eskom. The team is required to conduct a rapid and intensive review of the operations, maintenance and the technical environment at all the Eskom power stations within four weeks.

Minister of Public Enterprises, Pravin Gordhan, Chairperson of the Eskom Board, Jabu Mabuza and the Eskom CEO, Phakamani Radebe, on Monday, met with the 11 industry specialists.

The team will formally begin executing their mandate on Monday the 11th of March.

The Team will examine amongst others, plant unavailability due to scheduled maintenance as well as plant unavailability due to unplanned outages and unscheduled maintenance.

The Team will report to Minister Gordhan and to a Technical sub-committee of the Eskom board.

The Eskom CEO will facilitate the work of the Technical Review Team by allocating up to three technical, operating and engineering personnel, who will assist with access and information collection.

The members of the new Technical Review Team are:

  • Dr Tsakani Mthombeni (Coordinator)
  • Mr Ian Morrison (Coordinator)
  • Mr Seeralan Chinaboo
  • Ms Khumo Morolo
  • Mr Gladman Mkwai
  • Mr Robbie van Heerden
  • Mr Sibuyela Sishuba
  • Dr Walter Schmitz
  • Mr Vitesh Maharaj
  • Mr Lwazi Goqwana
  • Ms Phindile Mooketsi

Dr Mthombeni is the Chairperson of the Energy Intensive Users Group (EIUG) and also served on the President Cyril Ramaphosa’s Sustainability Task Team for Eskom.

Mr Ian Morrison is a retired executive, with many years of experience as an engineer and mining professional.