Netball SA reveals prize money for the Telkom Premier League

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Netball South Africa Chief Executive Officer Blanche De La Guerre has revealed the prize money for the upcoming Telkom Premier League.

The league will commence on Friday at the Rembrandt Hall in the University of Pretoria for the next five weeks. There will be two divisions in the league.

De La Guerre says the winners in the top division will pocket R 250 000, with the runners-up earning R 150 000, while the winner of lower division will get R 100 000, with the runners-up getting R 50 000.

The league was launched last week with Telkom coming on board as the new sponsors. SAB used to sponsor the league for that past five years but pulled out late last year. The CEO is excited for the tournament.

There will be thirteen overall including the ten provincial teams (two from Gauteng), Spar Smileys, Zimbabwe and male team. De La Guerre says it is good for the tournament.

Division one-Gauteng Jaguars, Western Cape Southern Stings, North West Flames, Free State Crinums, Gauteng Golden Fireballs, Spar Smileys

Division two-KZN Kingdom Stars, Eastern Cape Aloes, Mpumalanga Sunbirds, Limpopo Baobabs, Northern Cape Diamonds. – Report by Vincent Sitsula