Nelson Mandela Bay council speaker removed

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Nelson Mandela Bay council speaker, Jonathan Lawack has been removed through a vote of no confidence. 60 councilors voted in favour and 59 opposed.

United Democratic Movement (UDM) councillor, Mongameli Bobani tabled the motion to remove Lawack at a council meeting in Port Elizabeth.

It was seconded by the Economic Freedom Fighters’ (EFF) Zilindile Vena who has submitted a motion of no confidence against mayor Athol Trollip.

Bobani says opposition parties have lost confidence in the speaker due to his allegedly being bias towards the DA.